Mustafa Prize; The Upmost Sign for Science and Technology of the Islamic World

0 Dec 03 2017 In بین‌المللی توسط بین الملل

Sami Erol Gelenbe, from Turkey, for his work about "Modeling the Evaluation of Computer System Performance", and Mohammad Amin Shokrollahi, from Iran, because of his work in the field of "RAPTOR Codes and Information Networks" were selected as the winners of Mustafa Prize.

According to the Scientific Reporter of IRNA News, in the 2ndround of Mustafa Prize and after judgement process, the supreme sign of science and technology in the Islamic world was awarded to two ICT scientists; Prof. Sami Erol Gelenbe, Turkish computer scientist, electronic engineer and applied mathematician because of his work about "Modeling the Evaluation of Computer System Performance" and Prof. Mohammad Amin Shokrollahi, Iranian mathematician and owner of Ph.D. in Communication and Computer Science, for his work about Raptor Codes.

At the ceremony of the 2nd round of Mustafa Prize, at which Dr. Ali Akbar Salehi, Head of the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran, Dr. Sourena Sattari, the Vice-Presidency for Science and Technology, Prof. Morenzi, executive manager of Islamic World Academy of Science (IAS), Dr. Alireza Marandi, the head of Iranian Academy of Medical Science, Mohammad Mahdi Zahedi, the head of Educational Commission of Iran's Islamic Consultative Assembly, and number of prominent characters of science and technology of the world participated, Prof. Gelenbe and Prof. Shokrollahi gave speech about their activities and achievements.

Mustafa Prize was approved by Iran's Supreme Council of the Cultural Revolution in 2012 as one of the symbols of scientific merit and excellence all over the world.

This prize which is awarded biennially to top scientists and researchers of the Islamic world would be dedicated to an innovative work on the boundaries of knowledge that is provided by the prominent people in the fields of science and technology and is intended to improve human life.

In the 1st round, Mustafa Prize was awarded to two Muslim scientists; Prof. Ms. Jackie Yi-Ru Ying, nanotechnology researcher from Singapore and Prof. Mr. Omar Yaghi, Jordanian chemist because of his researches about metal-organic frameworks (MOFs).

In the week of Mustafa Award (Dec. 02-05), specialized and scientific meetings are held in the fields of ICT, Biotechnology and Medical Sciences, Nano-science and Technology, and Economics and Islamic Banking at University of Tehran, Sharif University of Technology, Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Science, Tehran University of Medical Science, Imam Sadegh University, Tarbiat Modarres University, and Iran University of Science and Technology.

90 scientists from 30 Islamic countries attend Mustafa Prize ceremony. The prize is worth $500.000 in addition to a Mustafa Medal.

Based on the executive document of Mustafa Prize, Sourena Sattari, the Vice-Presidency for Science and Technology, is the Head of the Policy Council and Mahdi Saffarinia, PTP's president, is its secretary.
Edited On : -/-

No Comments.